Miles From Home

The last 2 weeks have been pretty crazy.

Last week was full of fabulous news.. Two babies, an engagement and new digs for Kerry and I!

My best friend Jodie’s rock- proposed to in Venice

A new home for me and Kerry!

Plus the arrival of baby Effie and baby Sébastian!

It really was a lovely week and I was so happy to hear all the fantastic news. In fact I cried with happiness (in Monsoons nightclub toilets) on FaceTime to Jodie and Liam when they announced the news and showed me the ring.

It made me rather sad that I’m not there to be able to celebrate with them though -the beauty of being at the other side of the stupid world! So I celebrated anyway…


Steff and I celebrating all the wonderful news in Cullen Bay

Then came the week of terrible news. Firstly my Nanna was told she has breast cancer; then I learnt that an old friend, Chantelle, had tragically taken her life and then that beautiful Caroline had lost her battle with Cystic Fibrosis.

Emma (one of my closest friends) and Caroline (right, Emma’s best friend) who sadly lost her battle with CF

The Tiger Tiger Leeds Restaurant team AKA Dream Team a few years ago having a civilised night (for once). Chantelle pictured on the back row, 4th from the left

Now nothing makes me want to be home more than receiving all this news. When you’re miles from home it really is hard when the only thing you want is to hug a friend through excitement or sorrow. You really do feel like the worst human being for not being there. Not to mention the longing for your Mum.

I don’t care how old you are, sometimes you just need your Mum. These are the hardest moments when travelling.

Travelling is all wonderful and exciting when there’s no news from home and everyone is just going about their basic day to day lives whilst you’re jumping out of planes and crocodile spotting, but when things happen, like babies, engagements and sadly deaths- you long for your loved ones.

When I learnt the news about Caroline, my heart ached for Emma. Had I of been in the UK I would have been in the car and driving down the A1 in a split second- no questions asked. Not being able to attend Chantelle’s funeral will be a tough blow too. Myself, her and the rest of the restaurant team have many fond memories and were a very close workforce. It would have been lovely to be there with them to celebrate all those wonderful memories Chantelle has left behind.

My previous blog post was about how badly I don’t want to go back to the UK and now I’d sell myself on the street just for a flight home. And yet it was my decision to move away. So I only have myself to blame. I keep telling myself there’s nothing I can do even if I was home. It wouldn’t change anything and that is the brutal truth. If I’m serious about wanting to stay in Australia-this is just something I’m going to have to get used to.

I just hope that this is the end of all the bad news and as D:Ream once said ‘things can only get better’.

Rest in Peace Chantelle and Caroline, forever in our memories.

Leave a Reply

